Charity Steward Jewel

From The Lost Jewel
Jump to: navigation, search

Charity Steward Jewel

25012587141 61c4985b2f n.jpg
RMIG Charity Steward Jewel from 1962
Jurisdiction United Grand Lodge of England

The Royal Masonic Charity Festival Jewel is a jewel given to Masons who donate at the Royal Masonic Charity Festival.

Members donating a sum of money become ‘Stewards’ for the year and can wear a medal or ‘Masonic jewel’. These were issued in large quantities with red ribbons for the Royal Masonic Benevolent Institution, white for the Royal Masonic Institution for Girls and blue for the Royal Masonic Institution for Boys. Each year the design differed but was usually based on the coat of arms of the Appeal President for the year.

If a member served twice as a steward for different charities he was eligible for the Grand Lodge charity jewel which existed in a wide range of variations but all with the same medal depicting charity aiding the young under the gaze of the eye of the great architect.

The Royal Masonic Institute for Girls merged in 1986 with the Royal masonic Institution for Boys to form what is now the Royal Masonic Trust for Girls and Boys.


The jewel usually features the word "Steward" at the top of a ribbon. The jewel itself is unique in design each time it is redesigned, but often features the words "Royal Masonic Institute" and the year.

The color of the ribbon is determined by the charity:

  • The ‘Grand Charity’: Yellow ribbon
  • The Royal Masonic Trust for Girls and Boys: white/blue/white ribbon
  • The Royal Masonic Benevolent Institution: red ribbon
  • The New Masonic Samaritan Fund
  • Green ribbon with a yellow centre stripe.

Former charities include:

  • The Royal Masonic Institute for Girls - White Ribbon
  • The Royal Masonic Institute for Boys - Blue Ribbon